Number 42: Nostalgia

(Napa cabbage and pork rolls, carrot kinpira, folded egg, rice with shiso furikake)

Blast from the past!

It has been over two years since my last bento, and so much has changed since then.  As last mentioned, I am currently pursuing a law degree.  Right now I am getting ready for school again and interviewing at law firms for next summer.  Yes, law students move quickly: we call it “taking the initiative” and “being proactive.”

Last year was kind of a blur.  Given the current job market, everyone is extraordinarily committed to schoolwork.  There has not been a lot of time for long vacations and big projects for fun,  so I have resolved to finding smaller pleasures in life.  The biggest challenge right now is finding prints I like so much that I want to hang them on my walls 24/7.  Well, off to etsy.

Another thing, of course, is cooking.  Not just making bentos, but eating in more.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

For a recipe of the cabbage and pork rolls, click here.  I quite like the pattern of the cabbage leaves.

As an attempt to improve my diet, I have begun to introduce different grains into my rice.  However, I love the fluffy texture of white rice too much to give it up altogether, so nowadays I eat a “compromise” blend of regular white rice, brown rice, and barley in a 2:2:1 ratio.  Love it.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Bento #42 - Recipes

Leave a Reply

