Number 38: Up the Mountain, Again

(Yaki-onigiri wrapped in nori, cherry tomato, red grapes, and gyoza)

Something I made the other day that I thought would be nice to take along when one goes on a picnic hike and visits the squirrels up on the mountain.

Actually, I am planning to go hiking today with this person; unfortunately, I doubt I will have time to whip up a bento in advance.  I have not gone hiking since last October, and this will probably be my last time before I graduate and leave Montreal.  As mentioned before, I am quite fond of Mont Royal Park.  Every time I went, I always encountered something amusing or special.

Like the time when I attempted to talk to a seagull:

Or the time when a squirrel started to climb up my umbrella without my notice:

I wonder what fun things await us today.

P.S.: Does anyone have any suggestions on good and cheap places to eat at in London, Paris, or Berlin?  I am visiting these three cities shortly, and your suggestions would be much appreciated!

2 comments

  1. What do you put in your onigiri? How do you get them to stick together so well?

  2. Lisa: For these grilled onigiris, I didn’t have any fillings. I just pressed the rice together really tightly, nothing special. :D

Leave a Reply

