Number 35: Slow and Easy

img_2941web.jpg

(Yasai jaga, Italian sausages with tomato sauce, boiled cabbage, and rice dotted with toasted black sesame seeds)

Back from my bento-hiatus… I can’t believe that it has been more than a month since the last bento post!  So much has happened since, but it seems as if it was just yesterday.  Even though I was making bentos here and there, I did not feel very inspired. Hopefully, I will get back on track starting from this week.  There are some interesting dishes that I want to try out in upcoming bentos, so please stay tuned for that!

These days, I have been staying home a lot to work on my history papers.  Trying to make the best out of the situation, I decided to make more of my favourite slow-cooked meals.  One such dish is nikujaga. However, because good sliced beef is hard to get in Montreal, I sometimes make a vegetarian version like the one you see here.  It is quite a wonderful thing to smell the the simmering sweetened soy broth while one is slaving away over all sorts of mundane documents.  Well, maybe it is not wonderful per se (because I would much rather be watching Oprah while smelling this), but it definitely helps make things less unpleasant!

To balance out the sweetness of the potatoes, I also included sliced Italian sausages tossed in tomato sauce.

Leave a Reply

