Number 34: Eating Alone

img_2882webr.jpg

(Buta soboro gohan, eggplant and daikon stir-fry with sweet-and-sour douban sauce, broccoli, cherry tomato, and prune slices)

I made a special meal for myself the other night and prepared a bento the next day with the leftovers. Cooking for and eating by myself are things that I have come to appreciate, among other “by-myself” activities like drinking beer by myself, dining out by myself, and talking to myself. My “special” dinner consisted of buta soboro gohan, eggplant and daikon stir-fry, miso soup, and a glass of chilled mugicha. Nothing grandiose really, but I enjoyed the flavours and the fact that I had a “multi-course” meal (instead of the usual plain rice and stir-fry in one big bowl).

gohanforone.gif

Buta soboro gohan, or pork soboro rice, was my first attempt at flavoured rice. My earlier bento swap with Aki inspired me to make flavoured rice myself. I liked this recipe a lot and thought that it really added to an otherwise plain meal.

To save time, I made extra pork soboro so that the only thing I had to do the next morning was to get everything into my ricecooker and press the start button.

I paired the soboro gohan with “eggplant and daikon stir-fry with sweet-and-sour douban sauce” (quite a mouthful, isn’t it?). The original recipe includes salmon, but I only put in the vegetables since the rice already contained meat. The douban sauce was made by mixing soy sauce, sugar, rice vinegar, corn starch, and… surprise, surprise: Chinese douban sauce. When served cold the next day, it tasted more like pickled daikon and eggplant rather than a stir-fry dish (probably due to the rice vinegar).

2 comments

  1. I used to go to the movies alone and I quite liked that :) It’s a shame I just don’t have as much time to watch movies these days.

    Not sure if it’s your kind of thing, but I’m passing an award on to you: http://www.soyandpepper.com/2008/02/nice-matters.html

  2. Nilmandra: Thank you so much! It’s very sweet of you.

    I used to go to the movies along too. Sometimes I actually don’t think it makes sense for people to go to movies in a group, since all you do is sit there and be quiet anyways. XD

Leave a Reply

