Number 33: Chinese New Year Bento

img_2805w.jpg

(Curry omurice, bean salad with cherry tomatoes, and green apple rabbit)

Happy Chinese New Year, everyone!

Something that I had for the first day of the year of the mouse… Not that it was decidedly Chinese-New-Year-themed in any way, except for the words “good fortune” (大吉) that I had written with ketchup. Well, perhaps I can argue that the egg symbolizes gold and the rice silver, making the omurice a “house full of golds and silvers” (金銀滿屋)?

(Actually, it’s more like “gold wrapping silver” (金包銀), which also happens to be the title of a tragic Taiwanese song. –insert awkward laugh-)

Maybe I should have also had a tiny mandarin (桔), which in Cantonese sounds like the word for “fortune”?

I am a bit disappointed that the writing was somewhat off to the side on my omurice, causing the overall arrangement to look unbalanced.  This was also a problem that I had with my previous omurice bento.  Oh well, at least this time I made enough curry fried rice to fill up the egg parcel adequately!  Curry fried rice is made just like any ordinary fried rice, except for the addition of curry powder in the frying process.  I also sprinkled a dash of cinnamon and tumeric to add a touch of je ne sais quoi to the rice.

I tried to finish the leftover beans from last week’s bento and made a slightly different bean salad this time with cherry tomatoes.  Instead of red wine vinegar, I used balsamic vinegar.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Ever since moving away from home for college, I have been celebrating Chinese New Year (and a whole range of other holidays) by myself or with my friends. For this year, which was the last time that we would get to do this together, we went to a Sichuanese restaurant and pigged ourselves out.

mahjong.gif

After dinner, some of us went to our friend’s house to play mahjong (a.k.a. giving money to my friends). I had been hoping to seek revenge for my previous “defeats,” but we ended up losing interest after merely three to four games. Oh well.

feichun.jpg

May all your wishes come true!
Bonne santé!

4 comments

  1. Beautiful lunch – I’m envious of the yellow-ness of your omelet!

  2. I’ve been reading for a while and I adore this site. It amuses me so while providing some pretty bento pics YUM. If possible, I’d like to do a link exchange.

    Chinese New Year seems to have come and passed without my knowing o_o? I’ll always miss the ang pao… Anyways, Happy Lunar Year!

  3. Lisa: Thank you! Just good o’ regular eggs and natural lighting. ;D

    iamjenii: I’m glad that you enjoy browsing through my blog. Happy Lunar New Year!

  4. kev

    真是太有興致了!

Leave a Reply

