Number 27: A Happy Bento

img_2593web.jpg

(Edamame and rice, salted salmon, red globe grapes, and tamagoyaki with gochujang and nori)

Can you tell from my bento that I am feeling happy and relaxed?

This week marked the end of my fall semester, and I can finally stop working for a bit and enjoy myself (until final exams come, that is). I had a long lunch with my friend, Justin, on Wednesday, and we amused ourselves afterward at the contemporary art museum, where we saw an exhibition on Vik Muniz and another one on sound images. We also booked our tickets for the Christmas showing of the Nutcracker and were lucky enough to get some pretty good seats.

justin2.gif

(A picture of my friend, just because I promised him that I would post a picture of him and his “hair.” I can never really draw his hair properly.)

On Thursday, I received my Jamie Oliver book and my knitting book, even though I had only placed the order online on Monday (talk about fast delivery)! The pictures in both books are GORGEOUS. More mailed happiness came on the same day when my roommate handed me a package of CD’s, containing all sorts of cooking shows, that another friend, Karen, in Toronto had sent me earlier (thanks again!). Mmm… More food.

happyflowers.gif

Well, time to get back to work after this little break!

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

I made a small batch of salted salmon, or shiozake, following the recipe from Just Bento several weeks ago. I hate salmon skin (or fish skin in general); however, I agree that keeping it on enhances the taste. Moreover, if you look closely, you will discover how it has this nice colour gradient that progresses from dark grey to silver. So why not?

To save time, I added frozen edamame beans to the rice cooker instead of cooking them separately. After the rice is done, I sprinkled over a pinch of sea salt. The gochujang tamagoyaki is something that I have done before, and you can find a recipe for it here.

The clear plastic cup you see here is originally one of those apple sauce containers. Their height and diameter are perfect for my bento box, although I wouldn’t reuse them more than once. I wouldn’t use them for hot or greasy food either, but I think they are fantastic for fruits and light salads (i.e. couscous).

3 comments

  1. Hi, I just came across your blog and wanted to say how much I love everything about it: the way it looks, the bento, drawings and write-ups. I feel happy just looking at your site (^_^). Thank you!

  2. Cyntilla

    I followed the gochujang tamagoyaki link to the recipe (gonna try it with my strong miso) and I have to say that I fancy Haado Gei (yep, even my bf does!), so your quotation made me laugh really hard. XD

  3. commoi

    niceties: Thank you for your kind words! I love your idea of creating a blog celebrating your grandmother’s recipes! Absolutely lovely.

    Cyntilla: Yes, Haado Gei is my hero. :D

Leave a Reply

