Number 24: The Faux-Milton Bento

img_2489web.jpg

(Pancakes, scrambled eggs, sausages, roasted potatoes with garlic and herbs, a slice of orange, and syrup in a container)

There is this little place called “Place Milton” near my apartment that I go for breakfast or brunch at least once a week. It is a rather casual and homey joint, a favourite among students in the neighborhood. For most part of my junior year, I would drag myself out of bed and meet up with K. (of Pop Culture Penitent) and Justin (of I Dream of Architecture) for a good plate of eggs, sausages, potatoes, and toasts every Saturday. This weekly tradition still goes on, even though K. has moved back to her hometown. I have become such a regular by now that the staff don’t even bother handing me a menu. It is a good feeling.

This week, I decided to make a tribute bento after my favourite brunch place. Despite my efforts, I couldn’t manage to get the bento to look like the usual Milton fare: my potatoes were somehow not as orange as theirs. I guess I would have to go there this weekend for the real thing.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

That peculiar fushia thing is a bento gadget that I picked up during the summer in Hong Kong. It is essentially a container specially designed for condiments with a thicker consistency (i.e. mayo or ketchup).

squirt.gif

It has a special flap that you push down to force the sauce to come out from an outlet on the other side of the container. Quite a neat design really, you know, because we just have to have containers for squirting besides those for dipping.

(Okay, I may be a bento-tools geek, but who isn’t anyways?)

2 comments

  1. That is an extremely nifty gadget. Also, it’s more environmentally friendly than little foil or plastic packets of ketchup, mayo, or mustard. You could conceivably also use it for tonkatsu sauce — but that is, if you’re not a dipper when it comes to tonkatsu sauce, but a squirter (which I am).

    I suspect Place Milton’s potatoes are so orange because they liberally sprinkle on paprika — but very mild paprika which has lost its potency.

  2. commoi

    The strange thing about PM’s potatoes is that the degree of orangeness really fluctuates throughout the week. It could also be cheap barbecue powder? Who knows.

Leave a Reply

