Number 23: Birthday Post

(Rice with sakura denbu and toasted sesame seeds, hamburger with melted cheese, asparagus, honey-glazed sweet potatoes, and apple slices)

I am not dead! I am still here!

(Yes, I have been horrible with updates lately.)

This is a bento that I prepared last weekend for my day at the library. To cut down on active cooking and cleaning time, I cooked the burgers, sweet potatoes, and asparagus all on the same baking tray (a very common trick that one often sees in bento books). The sweet potatoes went into the oven first as they needed the most longest cooking time, and I just went ahead to chop the asparagus, shred the cheese and prepare the rice. When the potatoes were half done, I added the other dishes to the tray. The nice thing about baking is that I can just walk away and do other things; it’s a great way to save time in the morning.

On a random note, it was my 21st birthday this past week. Being my anal-retentive self, I baked my own birthday cake (with the help of my friends). It was a white chocolate melt-and-mix cake, one of the easiest recipes from Donna Hay’s Modern Classics II. Unfortunately, I made a mistake with the chocolate glaze, so the cake went without icing (yes, my perfectionist self is kicking me right now).

img_2449web2.jpg

Being my controlling self, I also bought the birthday candles myself (gosh, I do feel like a weirdo now!). Is it strange that one makes her own birthday cake and buys her own candles? Apparently it is. When I was at the grocery store, the cashier saw my candles and asked about them:

candlesdialogue.gif

Fantastic. I wonder if she thought that I was being sarcastic, when I was not trying to be. To make matters worse, the store-owner, who overheard our conversation, came over to ask me about my age. Our conversation roughly went like this:

“So are you fourteen now?”
“No.”
“Fifteen?”

(Pause)

“Noooooooooo. No. No. No. Noooooo. I am twenty…….. one.”

5 comments

  1. I bought sakura denbu – because it’s pink. Haven’t tried it yet, but it looks so pretty! Anyway, your illustrations are great – really makes your blog unique.

  2. Cyntilla

    Happy (belated) birthday! The white chocolate cake was a great idea, btw. ;-)

  3. commoi

    lunch buckets and cyntilla: a “thank you” to both of you. :)

  4. I know this is an old post, but I just found your blog (I love the bentos!). Anyway, happy belated birthday. I have those exact candles and I hate being mistaken for younger (we`ll see if that story changes when I’m 40… I`m 20 now) Haha

  5. Leiko

    Umm, i’ve always been mistaken for younger. Now, when I tell people my real age, instead of loud disagreements, I get . . . silence, otherwise known as “sheeeeeeeen” in japanese.

    ps: i’m just over four-oh. (sheeeeen)

Leave a Reply

