Backward and Forward: A Message

Dear all,

So there we have it: the first month of “frank tastes!” Well, it is only a very short time, but the beginning is always an important step, right?

First of all, I’d like to say a big “thank you” to our visitors. The blog has been enjoying a modest flow of daily traffic and just had its 3000th view this weekend. I am glad to see that others take interest in bento-packing and in what I enjoy doing. This is a great encouragement for me.

Now would also be a good time to think about what “frank tastes” wants to achieve. The past month has been a month of testing with format and the overall orientation of the blog. In terms of format, the Hemingway layout matches well with the blog’s simple style and the idea of “fragmentation” in bento aesthetics, so I think it is here to stay. I am still thinking of ways to streamline my categories, especially for posts related to recipes and cooking tips/notes. A new category, “Zakka,” has also been added. We will see how these go.

The frequency of updates will be set (though not fixed) at once per week due to my increasingly busy schedule. Both Thursday and Saturday are ideal weekdays for updates. If I don’t update on Thursday, presumably I will do so come Saturday. It really depends on my actual plans for the particular week.

The notion of “everyday life” will continue to be a consistent theme in both my bentos and my blog. I am very comfortable with the idea, and it is something that I want to emphasize.

This brings us onto the next question: how will this theme be integrated into the blog. I am aware that the posts are not very informative and helpful for those who are seeking for tips on cooking or bento-making. The posts often tend to be meaningless rambling on mundane events. At the same time, I am reluctant to make the contents too technical or instructional, for I never intended “frank tastes” to be exclusively a food/cooking blog. Instead, my wish is to have it as a documentation of my everyday life through the lens of bento-making. I will try to find a way to reach a compromise between retaining this personal quality and having posts that are more substantial.

That’s it for now, and thank you again for your support. If you have any suggestions or thoughts, please share them with me.

Yoroshiku onegaishimasu!

Best,
Joyce

3 comments

  1. chotto_bento

    Just wanted to let you know how much I have been enjoying your blog! I really like your idea of “everyday life through the lens of bento-making”– I’m looking forward to more! ^_^

  2. chotto_bento

    Oh! I also meant to say that I adore your illustrations! :)

  3. commoi

    chotto_bento: Thank you very much for your encouragement! I enjoy looking at your bento on the LJcomm too. Let’s keep on bento-ing. :)

Leave a Reply

