Roll, Eggroll, Roll!

img_2099web.jpg

A few nights ago, I finally got around to trying to make tamagoyaki. Previously, I had made “informal” eggrolls using a round frying pan. When I went back to my parents’ house this summer, I found my mother’s tamagoyaki pan, which she had not touched in years. She herself had made tamagoyaki once when I was still a teenager. Somehow she failed and never thought about attempting it again. See, my mother is someone who develops an interest in random things easily but forgets about them just as quickly.  She also has an electric pan specially designed to make french crepes.  Of course, it has been sitting in its own cardboard box for years now, but that’s another story.

Instead of making plain tamagoyaki, I added some chopped green onions to the egg mix. While I was in the middle of rolling the egg, it occurred to me that my tamagoyaki looked square instead of rectangular. EHHHHHH?!

tamarollweb.jpg

Perhaps it was because I was too keen in pushing the initial scrambled egg to one end of the pan. As the egg snowballed, it became increasingly difficult to get it to roll evenly. Everytime the tamago made a 90-degree turn, I could almost hear a little “thump.” I found it useful to have a spectula in one hand and a pair of chopsticks in the other to facilitate the turning. To oil the pan, I used a silicone brush.

To my surprise, the tamagoyaki came out nicely cooked with very little browning. I was so proud of myself that I couldn’t help calling a good friend of mine just to tell him about my success. Somehow, the process of making multiple layers of egg was a highly therapeutic one. I think I will need to make a few more of these as schoolwork intensifies. What else can go into tamagoyaki? Should I do my best and try inserting a crabstick and an asparagus next time?

For your reference, I learned about the basics of tamagoyaki from this post at Lunch in a Box.

2 comments

  1. OMG. Tamagoyaki pan!!! When I come up to Mtl, can I please please please try it out? I am deeply envious of your pan! The tamagoyaki may be square, but I think it looks lovely.

    You could do fusion style and use French-style omelet fillings. If I had a tamagoyaki pan, I think I’d do a fine herbes one but also try one with various cheese/herb combos, i.e., chive/aged cheddar.

  2. commoi

    Karen: OMG YES. I can’t wait to see you in Montreal. Your suggestions seem really interesting; I’d love to see how the French twist on the tamagoyaki will turn out.

    (And of course, we also need to go to APCD).

Leave a Reply

