Number 8: The Picnic Bento

In this bento: a mixture of fruits, smoked salmon and cream cheese biscuit, cucumbers, omelette rolls with red onion and red pepper, upside-down pineapple cake.

00033y6d.jpg

I went on a picnic with two friends, and it was such a marvelous day for the three of us. We first met up for brunch at a very relaxed sandwich joint. One of us actually just discovered that morning that he was admitted to his dream medical school in England. After brunch, we went to a deli nearby to get some cheese and crackers before hiking up the mountain. The picnic itself took place by the lake, and we just sat on the grass and dined. This is probably the last time the three of us will get to do something (or anything, rather) together. I will miss this terribly.

My two other friends had never had a bento before, and I had never made a bento for anyone except myself. For this “special occasion,” I made individual lunch boxes for the three of us (two of which are shown below). I can’t say that I am very satisfied with the eggrolls. Originally, I was going to make beef-daikon-cucumber rolls, but unfortunately I got the wrong cut of beef and did not discover it until the morning of the picnic. The eggrolls were a last minute thing, with my fridge being basically void of any meaningful ingredients.

000345q3.jpg

Since I didn’t have two other suitable boxes, I went to the dollar store and picked up two identical square boxes. They were only $1 Canadian ($0.90 USD) each! My only complaint is that they are clear instead of white (I have a thing for white boxes). The design on their covers were too cute to pass:

00037cs3.jpg

I also tried out a new recipe: smoked salmon and cream cheese biscuits. A fellow member on the Bento Lunches community had helped me translate the Japanese recipe into English several weeks ago. Thanks again; the recipe worked out quite well.

00038t3z.jpg

Note: This is from a backdated post, previously from livejournal. Text has been edited to fit this new setting.

Leave a Reply

