Number 2: The Ordinary One

bento.gif

I wasn’t especially pleased with the resulting look of my bento this time. Even though it was quite delicious, it looked disorganized. I remember feeling frustrated with how deep the tupperware box was and how difficult it was to work with it. This goes to show a) how much more practice I need; and b) how important the container is for the bento.

In this bento: salmon fritters, pineapple and cucumber salsa, and roasted brussel sprouts with a side of rice. The salsa is just a mix of pineapple and cucumber pieces with a dash of lemon juice and maple syrup. Let it sit in the fridge afterwards for a few hours for the flavours to develop. I can’t remember where I first saw this recipe, but I do recall that it goes well with fried goods.

The salmon fritters is made following a recipe from Michele Cranston’s Food & Drink at Home, except I left out the chives because I didn’t have any at my disposal. If I was to make this recipe again, then I would add more salmon to the fritters. My altered recipe is posted here.

Just wanted to squeeze a cute picture in:

The brussel sprouts are simply seasoned with a dash of sea salt and ground black pepper, then rolled around in an olive-oiled baking pan before entering the oven.

Note: This is from a backdated post, previously from livejournal. Text has been edited to fit this new setting.

Leave a Reply

