Tamagoyaki with Gochujang

This tamagoyaki is kicked up a notch with gochujang. I remember having a similar side dish at a Korean restaurant in K-Town, New York back in 2006. Unlike regular tamagoyaki, this egg roll was wider and flatter. Sadly, when I visited the restaurant a few months later in 2007, I did not get to taste that side dish again. Nor did I see this dish at other Korean restaurants. So, I decided to device a way of making it based on my recollections. The only thing missing is that I didn’t add any chopped green onions to the eggs.

Tamagoyaki with Gochujang

  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • dash of mirin and dashi stock
  • tiny dash of light soy
  • a little water or milk
  • 1 tbsp green onions, chopped (optional)
  • as much or little gochujang as you like
  • 1 sheet of nori
  • 1/2 tbsp sesame oil
  1. Beat eggs; mix in mirin, dashi stock, light soy, water/milk, and green onions.
  2. Spread gochujang on one side of nori.
  3. Heat frying pan over medium heat; add oil.
  4. Pour eggs into pan and swirl around, making a thin layer.
  5. Place sheet of nori onto eggs before eggs set completely.
  6. Roll into a roll.

Pictures of the finished product here.

I found that the taste of the sesame oil is better preserved if it is applied after the egg roll has cooled down to room temperature. If I apply it when the egg is still hot or warm, then the egg just has its oiliness but none of its aroma. Is it just me or is it the general nature of sesame oil?

One comment

  1. skimmer8

    I tried this recipe in my lunch. It was delicious!! I didn’t put the sesame oil on becuase I was making it from memory – I’ll try that next time.

    This the best kind of recipe: tasty, easy to make and pleasing to the eye. : )

Leave a Reply

