Pistachio and White Chocolate Cookies

img_2144web2.jpg

My friend’s birthday provided me with the perfect occasion to bake a batch of these cookies.  I actually don’t like to eat sweet things all that much myself .  If you ask me to choose between a skewer of chicken satay and a slice of chocolate fudge cake, I would choose the former without hesitation.  Pistachios, however, are an exception (so is ice-cream, but ice-cream is a whole different category anyways).  Here, the demure aroma of pistachios is paired with the velvety richness of white chocolate.

This recipe is taken out of Nigella Lawson’s How to Be a Domestic Goddess, which title describes my one of my life goals perfectly. This is a cookbook that I highly recommend. The writing is actually fun to read, and the pictures are gorgeous. Most importantly, its recipes (at least the ones I’ve tried) do work out very well, unlike some other books that don’t offer much beyond pretty pictures (yes, I am looking at you, Martha S.). And seriously, who doesn’t want to become a domestic goddess?

Pistachio and White Chocolate Cookies (Makes 36)

  • 150g all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 100g butter
  • 125g white sugar
  • 100g brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 100g ground pistachios
  • 125g whole pistachios
  • 125g white chocolate, chopped
  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees celsius
  2. In a bowl, cream the butter and the sugars together
  3. Add vanilla and egg, then flour and baking soda
  4. When a smooth and thick dough forms, add the pistachios and chocolate
  5. Roll dough into walnut-sized balls and place on parchment-lined baking sheet
  6. Bake for 10-12 minutes

As you can see, this is a pretty basic, fool-proof cookie recipe. I only managed to pack five cookies into the tiny paper gift box for my friend. As for the rest, well…

img_2141web.jpg

2 comments

  1. (This is Karen in T.O., btw.) Oh, I want to know where you got the box in Mtl. Adorable, as usual.

  2. commoi

    Karen: I got the box from Omer Deserres and drew the pictures on myself with a sharpie.

    I think they started selling paper boxes in this form not long ago (because last time when you were baking for Prof. Kuo, they only had those Chinese take-out boxes?).

Leave a Reply

